Kategorie: Geografia (celkem: 1046 referátů a seminárek)

Informace o referátu:

  • Přidal/a: anonymous
  • Datum přidání: 01. července 2007
  • Zobrazeno: 2403×

Příbuzná témata


The United States of America is the fourth largest country in the world (after Russia, Canada and China). It occupies the southern part of North America and stretches from the Pacific to the Atlantic Ocean. It also includes Alaska in the north and Hawaii in the Pacific Ocean. The total area of the country is about nine and a half million square kilometres. The USA bordes on Canada in The north and on Mexico in the south.
The USA made up of 50 states and the District of Columbia, a special federal area where the capital of the country, Washington, is situated. The population of the country is more than 270 million.
If we look at the map of the USA, we can see lowlands and mountains. The highest mountain are the Rocky Mountanins, the Cordillera and the Sierra Nevada. The highest peak is Mount McKinley which is located in Alaska.
American`s largest rivers are the Mississippi, the Missouri, the Rio Grande and the Columbia.The Great Lakes on the border with Canada are the largest and deepest in the USA.
The climate varies greatly. The coldest regions are in the north. The climate of Alaska is arctic. The climate of the central part is continental. The south has a subtropical climate. Hot winds blowing from the Gulf of Mexico often bring typhoos. The climate along the Pacigic coast is much warmer than that of the Atlantic coast.
he USA is highly developed industrial country. It`s the world`s leading producer of copper and oil and the world`s second producer of iron ore and coal. Among the most important manufacturing industries are aircraf, cars, textiles, radio and TV sets...
Though mainly European and African in origin, Americans are made up from nearly all races and nations, including Chinese and native Americans.
The largest cities are: NY, LA, Chicago, Philadelphia, Detriot, and others.
The United States is a federal union of 50 states, each of which has its own government. The seat of the central governmentis Washington DC. According to the US Constitution the powers of the government are exercised into 3 branches: the executive (headed by the President), the legislative (exercised by the Congress) and the judicial. The Congress consist of the Senate and the House of Representatives.
There are two main political parties in the USA: the Republican and the Democratic, though there`s hardly any difference between their political lines.

Nový příspěvek

Ochrana proti spamu. Kolik je 2x4?